NaNoWriMo Eve

October 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

Last week I did something a little silly. I signed up for NaNoWriMo, a challenge for people like myself who claim to be interested in writing yet seem to find daily excuses for not doing any.

By midnight November 30, for me to proudly call myself a “winner” of NaNoWriMo, I must have written 50,000 words (beginning tomorrow). This works out to around 1667 words per day, or around two and a half pages if you happen to use my default word settings (single spacing, Calibri font, size 11).

From what I can tell reading the forums (the NaNoWriMo brigade are my kind of people – super passionate about it and nerdy as hell, lovingly posting no end of nonsense online), it’s not necessarily about quality but more quantity. Editing of any kind is frowned upon, the idea is to line yourself up with November 30 and run like hell. If you’re happy with what you’ve done, there’s always December (or the rest of your life) to go back and craft that sucker into a real book.

I have an idea of what I’ll be writing about (it involves a musician – not based on anyone I know [at least not yet!] – who realises he is slowly going deaf), but not really any idea of how it’s going to unfurl. I don’t even have my character’s name yet, or a title for the work. (The website actually asks for a title up front, which I find difficult. I usually name my writing once it’s done and I can see what might fit.)

I concocted myriad excuses as to why I couldn’t do this in November (the main one being Angie and I are catering not one, but two yoga retreats during the month), but then realised that making up excuses was my own death sentence in the matter. I promptly logged on and signed up and ignored the cold sweat that broke out on my back.

So this is what I will be doing every day as of tomorrow. I will try to slot it into my daily circus which also includes a two hour yoga session (well, it incorporates some meditation and a shower), a one hour kickboxing drill session (with a run), time for reading, the ten hours or so of catering I’ll be doing for about 16 days of the month and other things like writing newsletters and doing some work around Jaspers. I could always cheat and just write anything at all to get to the 50,000 words but then, where’s the fun in that?

All fears aside, I’m looking forward to getting stuck into it tomorrow. And with any luck I’ll at least have the guy’s name by then.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading NaNoWriMo Eve at Write Side Of The Brain.

meta

