NaNoWriMo Day One

November 1, 2011 § 3 Comments

Well, it was a little uneventful.

I had a very busy day with domestic duties, mainly cleaning out a commercial cool room in preparation for a retreat Angie and I are catering at the end of the week. There’s nothing like throwing out mouldly, hidden away leftovers to get the creative (and digestive) juices flowing.

I finally got hunkered down just after 8pm to begin. I had a vague idea but not even a character name. I sat there and stretched and thought and refused to go online and finally the words started flowing.

It’s amazing how the writing process can work sometimes. I went from having no name for a main character to having four characters with names in under a minute. The story has already, in just over 1600 words, started forming in ways I hadn’t seen in my vague imaginative plotting over the past couple of days as well. My working title is Quiet. I won’t give much else away just yet, mainly because Angie is waiting for me.

At any rate, I’ve begun, which is a good, yet strangely intimidating feeling. It means I’m on the path, and one rule I made while walking the Camino last year was Never Go Back. Even with this busy month ahead, I’ll be getting to those 50,000 words if it kills me.

But for now, I have to finish writing November’s newsletter for Angie Gluten Free. A different but equally enjoyable kind of writing.

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to NaNoWriMo Day One

  • Congrats on your beginning! “Never Go Back” is a great motto for NaNoWriMo, in my opinion. 🙂

  • Good luck – it’s midday in the UK here and I haven’t written a word, but I will note something down over lunch and have several hundred words by this evening!!!

  • craignew says:

    Thanks Nicole! I think it’s a good motto for virtually everything, unless you suddenly noticed you missed your turn off on a highway.

    And thanks potatosandwich, I hope your evening was filled with lots of words and carbohydrates.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading NaNoWriMo Day One at Write Side Of The Brain.

meta

